Cleanse Day 16

Joe has finally gotten to the point in the cleanse where he is counting down the days until the cleanse is over. I think my hubby is really looking forward to eating something that isn’t gluten-free and vegan. And he has also mentioned how excited he is to enjoy a beer at the end of the day.

Lately, we have both noticed how well we are sleeping. In addition to getting tired earlier and easier (we are both totally ready for bed at 9 every night, 9:30 if we are pushing it) we are also sleeping super deep without disturbance each night. I’ve always been a good sleeper, but this sleep has beensomething else. Joe has also said that he feels calmer, more relaxed and focused throughout the day, mainly because he never has a food coma that can sometimes result after eating a big lunch full of animal products. It will be interesting to see what changes we decided to keep around and what changes we decide just aren’t for us long term.

Here’s a look at today’s eats…

Breakfast
The usual. Could I be any more boring in the morning? What can I say? I know what I like.

Mid-Morning Snack
Herbal tea

Lunch
12 Black Bean and Quinoa chips from Trader Joe’s
1/3 cup hummus
1 can vegan split pea soup (also a Trader Joe’s fave)
More water and tea

Afternoon Snack
Cashew Cookie Larabar with 1 tsp. creamy natural peanut butter

Dinner
Lots of little bites as I was making dinner. We had our friend Cornell over for dinner, so I had to step up my vegan, gluten-free game a bit. I made a quinoa dish (2 cups quinoa made with veggie broth) with sauteed kale, edamame (about 1 cup), sauteed mushrooms (about 1 cup) and onion (1/2 of a medium onion), sliced grape tomatoes and avocado. Oh, and a little toasted sesame oil and vinegar to finish it off. Joe said it was my best meal of the cleanse yet!

I also made dessert, something I have steered clear of since I went on the clenase for the most part. Berry cobbler was, in my opinion, the easiest way to make a familiar dessert that was also cleanse-friendly.
For 3 servings:
1/4 cup almond meal
1/4 cup gluten-free flour mix (Bob’s Red Mill)
2 to 3 tablespoons Earth Balance vegan spread
2 tablespoons rolled oats
3 packets stevia
Pinch of salt

1 1/2 cups frozen (thawed) mixed berries tossed with a little stevia and gluten-free flour

I combined the topping mixture until it was crumbly. I divided the berries into 3 individual ramekins and topped it with the crumbled topping. Baked in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes or until the filling was bubbly. It was delicious!

Madison

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

