Cleanse Day 11

We really are on the downward stretch of the cleanse! And I have to admit that I’m a little excited. I wanted to go back and talk about the tiredness that Joe and I were feeling earlier this week. Around days 9/10 Joe and I were really struggling with feeling tired later in the day (at night mainly, after the gym) and Joe was especially cranky when he got home from work, mainly because I think he wasn’t getting quite enough to eat, despite my best efforts. I, on the other hand, feel like I’ve been getting plenty to eat, but as some of you pointed out, I may not have been getting quite enough protein.

For Joe, I started making more smoothies to accompany his meals. At breakfast, I’ve started making him a smoothie with almond milk, peanut butter, stevia, cocoa powder, dates and ice. It’s packed with calories (I usually put a couple tablespoons of peanut butter in there and 3 to 4 dates) and low in sugar. Great fuel for an active hubby. At night I’ll also make him a smoothie right after we get back from the gym, sometimes the same smoothie I make in the morning, and sometimes with almond milk and mixed berries. I’ve noticed that this has helped a lot and Joe says he feels like he has a lot more energy and is no longer cranky. Major win!

I tried to put my focus into getting a little more protein, too, mainly in the form of tofu pudding. It’s a truly healthy treat, so I’m not sure it really counts as a treat. But it’s a great way to incorporate protein into the daily grind. I just blend together a block of firm tofu, a little almond milk, some cocoa powder and stevia until it is smooth and creamy. 

Here’s a look at the day’s eats…  

Breakfast
Oats (made with water, cinnamon and stevia)
2 tablespoons creamy natural peanut butter
1 medium banana
Water (16 oz)
1 cup unsweetened almond milk

Mid-Morning Snack
3/4 cup fresh blackberries
Water and herbal tea

Lunch
Leftover split pea soup from last night
2 slices gluten-free brown rice bread, toasted and drizzle lightly with olive oil, salt and pepper
1/2 cup sauteed kale
More hot water and herbal tea

Afternoon Snack
1 tablespoon salted peanuts
1 PB&J Larabar with 1 teaspoon creamy natural peanut butter
Water (24 oz)

Dinner
Roasted teeny, tiny potatoes from Trader Joe’s (with Italian herbs and olive oil)
1 to 1 1/2 cups roasted kale
1/2 cup garbanzo beans

Dessert
1/3 cup cashew cream layered with 2/3 cup tofu chocolate pudding (tofu, stevia, cocoa powder)
2 tablespoons walntus

Madison

2 thoughts on “Cleanse Day 11

  1. Ok-here’s your weird immune system tip. Anytime you feel you might be getting sick, floss your teeth. It triggers an immune system response. My old boss from the Middle East swore by this. It’s never let me down!

  2. Pingback: Gearing Up To Grind! | FYI

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

