Cleanse Day 10

We are half way through our cleanse! I can hardly believe that it has gone so quickly. When we started the cleanse, I was worried that doing so would mean a lot of extra work for me. Since I am the primary (okay, almost exclusive) cook in the family, breakfast, lunch and dinner are on my shoulders. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy to take on that responsibility, especially when Joe does most of the laundry around these parts.

That said, since I had a better grasp on what foods we could and couldn’t eat, Joe was just a willing participant ready to eat whatever I prepared. And he has done so throughout the cleanse joyfully. It’s fun having a husband that is willing to try crazy different things with me, even if it isn’t a lifestyle he is interested in maintaining long term.

Where was I going with this? Oh yes, what surprised me most was the fact that it hasn’t been that much extra work and has only been minimally more expensive. True, I do have to think in advance a little more about what Joe is going to have for lunch (probably the hardest task, so I try and make extra for dinner so he has leftovers) but since our dinners are less elaborate, it’s been easy to get meals on the table.

During the cleanse I’ve found that food is more abot fuel and satisfying my nutritional needs rather than satisfying every craving that comes my way. And I think that is a good thing to reflect on. However, I’ve also found that sometimes I end up eating more calories in order to satisfy (in a cleanse-friendly way) my sweet tooth at the end of the day. My nightly ritual of a couple squares of dark chocolate contains somewhere between 100 and 150 calories depending on if I have 2 or 3 squares. Swapping a serving of cashew cream or tofu pudding, while certainly healthy, is more calorie dense and doesn’t really satisfy the way a small amount of dark chocolate. Totally classic case of quality over quantity, right?

Here’s a look at the day’s eats…

Breafkast
1/3 cup oats (made with water, cinnamon and stevia)
2 tablespoons creamy natural peanut butter
1 medium banana, sliced

Mid-Morning Snack
Mint tea latte (made with unsweetened almond milk)

Lunch
2 slices gluten-free brown rice bread, toasted
1/2 medium avocado, sliced
1/4 cup roasted red pepper hummus
Smoothie (made with 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 cup frozen mixed berries and 1 tablespoon ground flax)
Water!

Afternoon Snack
More mint tea and water
1 tablespoon creamy natural peanut butter
1 medium banana, sliced
1/2 of a peanut butter cookie Larabar

Handful of blackberries

Dinner
Bowl of homemade vegan split pea soup (split peas, broth, water, salt, pepper, onions, garlic and carrots)
14 Baked Tater Tots (special treat we picked up from Trader Joe’s!)

Dessert
2/3 cup cashew cream topped with 1/4 cup frozen mixed berries
1 cup unsweetened almond milk

That’s it!
Madison

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

