Cleanse Day 9

photo

Hello again! I have to be honest with you, the last couple days have been the point where I have considered ditching the cleanse. Although there have certainly been positives to the way we have been eating (my stomach issues have been virtually non-existant, my skin looks fantastic) Joe and I have both been feeling really tired over the last couple days. Yes, we usually go to bed early (between 9:30 and 10:30 typically) but over the last couple days we have been struggling to stay awake until 9!

I am guessing that those who support this cleanse would probably say that this is just a time in the cleanse that people may start to temporarily lack energy, but I’ll admit that I’m a bit skeptical. Although I feel like I may consider cutting out most dairy from my diet after the cleanse is over for the sake of my skin, I am really starting to miss the nightly salmon or other seafood that I had been enjoying previously.

Just out of curiosity, I decided to calculate the grams of protein I ate yesterday and found that I ate roughly 63 grams of protein, certainly an adequate amount for a woman who weighs 143 pounds. Though I’m not sure it is enough for my level of activity. Anyone want to weigh in?

Here’s the day’s eats…

Breakfast
Oats (made with water, cinnamon and stevia) (4 g)
2 tablespoons natural peanut butter (8 g)
1 medium banana
Mint Tea Latte (make concentrated mint tea, add in 1/2 cup warm almond milk and stevia)
8 oz water

Mid-Morning
More herbal tea and hot water

Lunch
2 tablespoons salted peanuts (5 g)
1 cup kale sauteed with olive oil, salt and pepper (2 g)
1 can Trader Joe’s vegan split pea soup (14 g)
15 Food Should Taste Good multigrain (gluten-free) chips (3 g)
1/4 cup red pepper hummus (4 g)
More herbal tea

Afternoon Snack
1 cashew cookie Larabar with 1 tsp. creamy natural peanut butter (6 g)
Hot water (16 oz)

Dinner
We went out to dinner with friends tonight. I knew ahead of time that based on the restaurant they selected we were going to have a tough time finding options that were gluten-free and vegan. I ate a smoothie before leaving the house for substance. Thankfully they had a gluten-free menu, however they had no vegetarian/vegan items on their gluten-free menu (or their whole menu for that matter – frustrating!). Joe and I got creative and made a meal by patching together a few different items.

Smoothie (at home)
1 cup frozen mixed berries
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (2 g)
1 packet stevia
1 tablespoon psyllium seed husk
1/2 of a banana, frozen

At the Restaurant:
Salad with avocado, black beans (15 g) , corn and tomatoes with balsamic
Seltzer water with lemon

Dessert
Skipped tonight. My stomach wasn’t feeling the best so I watched something on TV with Joe when we got home and went straight to bed!

Madison

One thought on “Cleanse Day 9

  1. I am definitely not a nutritional expert so I hate to throw my suggestions out there, but you asked so I’m answering! I’m also actively trying to build muscle (as opposed to maintaining or leaning out) and I CrossFit 5 days a week, so I probably eat more protein than most people want/need to. All that to say – I aim for close to one gram of protein per pound of body weight (which, is actually almost exactly the same as yours!). Because of your activity level maybe it would be worth trying to bump up your protein intake and see if it helps?

    I love following along with your cleanse! And I really want to try that cashew cream!

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

