Cleanse Day 6

I’m a bit late getting this day’s update posted. I feel like we are finally starting to settle into the routine of our new eating style, since Joe and I both agreed last night that things are getting easier. I mentioned it a bit in my last post on Espresso and Cream, but I think the hardest part of the cleanse is not being able to have my nightly dark chocolate. I don’t typically eat a lot of dark chocolate, just a few squares, but it’s a very regular part of my day and I miss it terribly.

In the past I used to have a bad habit of snacking after dinner before bed. A bowl of cereal, a few handfuls of granola with milk, usually something carb-heavy. It was a habit that I desperately wanted to break. I found that by introducing a little dark chocolate into my diet each night it served as a signal to my brain and my stomach that the time to eat had ended for the day. Does that make sense? Now that I’ve removed the dark chocolate, I feel like my day of eating is less “finished” without my typical signal. I’ve tried replacing my dark chocolate with other things, like vegan cashew cream or a little peanut or almond butter but it’s not quite the same as some rich dark chocolate.

I think that the cleanse is probably supposed to make me examine and question why I need dark chocolate at the end of the day. I’m not sure if there really is any deeper reason other than the fact that I like chocolate. But I do find that my body does very well without processed sugar or any kind. I’ve never done well with sugar (it makes me feel sluggish and cranky and lethargic) so I think my body is responding well by taking a bit of break.

Here’s a look at today’s eats:

Breakfast
Yup, you guessed it. The ususal!
1/3 cup oats (made with water, cinnamon and stevia)
2 tablespoons natural peanut butter
1 medium banana
Decaf coffee with soy milk

Mid-Morning Snack
1 serving Snap Pea Crisps
1 small tea latte from Caribou (unsweetened and made with soy)

Lunch
Dinner leftovers:
1/3 cup edamame hummus
1 cornmeal fritter
Roasted broccoli
1 vegan veggie burger
Smoothie made with 1 cup soy milk and 1 cup frozen mixed berries
Mint tea

Afternoon snack
Lara bar with 1 tsp. peanut butter

Dinner
Chipotle! Post-yoga chipotle is our favorite Friday night tradition. I had a salad with black beans, brown rice, veggies, salsa and guacamole (okay, double guacamole)
Water (lots of it after hot yoga!)

Dessert:
1 cup warm almond milk with stevia
Handful of nuts

Madison

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

