Cleanse Day 3

Hello, friends! Checking in with another cleanse update. Today, for some reason or another, I felt in a bit of a funk. I’m not sure if it was an effect from the cleanse or what, but I’ve really struggled with feeling edgy, tense and emotional.

We are reading the book, The Quantum Wellness Cleanse, which is serving as a guide for our cleanse, and in the book the author cautions that during the first few days we may feel some strange emotional effects as our body adjusts to the removal of so many familiar ingredients. I can’t tell if I feel the way I do because I’ve been expecting to feel this way or because I really am struggling with the elimination of many staples in my diet, mainly gluten and dairy. I also find myself worrying about Joe and making sure that he is getting balanced nutrition and enjoying the cleanse rather than dreading it. Does that sound silly? Maybe. But I want us both to enjoy the next few weeks rather than feel like we are sogging through.

Additionally, I’ve really been finding that my stomach is struggling with adjusting to the high amount of lentils and beans that we are consuming in addition to the fiber-rich berries and leavy greens that are served with many of our meals. I feel like I’m on a bit of a fiber overload. Hopefully my body adjusts to things in the next week or so.

On to today’s eats:
Breakfast
1/2 cup rolled oats (made with water, stevia and cinnamon)
2 tablespoons natural peanut butter
1 medium banana
Decaf coffee with almond milk
Water

Mid-Morning Snack:
Mint herbal tea
Bite of trail mix (just fruits and nuts)

Lunch:
Rice, black beans and kale with olive oil (leftovers from last night)
1/2 avocado, chopped and served atop the rice and black beans
Water with lime

Afternoon Snack:
3/4 cup canned pumpkin with cinnamon and stevia
1 tablespoon creamy natural peanut butter
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

Pre Dinner:
Met my friend Emily at Starbucks and ordered a tall Refresh tea latte with soy

Dinner
5 lentil meatballs (made with lentils, onions, mushrooms and ground flax seed)
3/4 cup marinara sauce
Roasted asparagus with olive oil

Dessert
Small bowl of cashew cream with cinnamon
1 cup almond-coconut milk

Madison

3 thoughts on “Cleanse Day 3

  1. I hope you know how obsessed I am with reading your daily meal log.
    I’m sorry about the emotional whims. They should clear in 2 days, right?
    I posted today about how much I worry about our protein consumption & how I worry more about Brian than myself. Maybe we should take a spa day for ourselves?
    As someone who eats LOTS of lentils, I can tell you that vinegar helps. I always dress my lentils with a walnut oil-Dijon vinaigrette and it helps you not feel so bloated. Apple cider vinegar in general helps with bloating.

  2. I’m also loving checking in on your daily eats! Adjusting to a new or modified way of eating can be so emotional!! Just remember this is temporary (if you want it to be) and if nothing else I love learning how my body reacts to different foods. Hang in there, girl.

  3. As someone with a few dietary restrictions and a history of a tense relationship with food, I definitely understand where you’re coming from — from your sharing on Espresso and Cream, it sounds like you’ve made a lot of progress in liberating yourself from being overly-critical about every morsel that goes in your mouth and so to return to that level of guarded attention is probably welling up some old unconstructive feelings. After getting back from 2 weeks in Thailand, where I was able to eat everything (because it’s GF and dairy free), coming back to the midwest was really rough because suddenly I had to think so hard, and pick-and-choose about everything, and it really stressed me out! Try going to an ethnic market, where your world will open up with naturally cleanse-friendly ingredients — and at a much lower price point, since they aren’t considered “exotic.” Might be good for morale.

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

