Cleanse Day 2

Meal

Since Joe and I started the cleanse yesterday afternoon, I’m going to consider today Day 2 of our 21 day journey. Overall, things are off to a good start. It’s certainly tough working in a place that works with a lot of gluten, sugar and animal proteins. But I did a good job of holding strong today and avoiding the multitude of tempting desserts I was working with today.

Breakfast:
Cocoa Oatmeal with 2 tablespoons almond butter
Decaf coffee (allowed on the cleanse) with a little almond milk
16 oz water

Mid-Morning Snack
Mint herbal tea
1 cup frozen mixed berries

Lunch
Homemade quinoa salad with mushrooms, green peppers, avocado, olive oil and nutritional yeast
1/4 cup hummus
1 serving Food Should Taste Good blue corn tortilla chips
1 clementine

Afternoon Snack
Cashew Cookie Lara Bar with 1 tablespoon creamy natural peanut butter
Water

Dinner
1 cup brown rice with a little vegan butter (Earth Balance)
1 cup sauteed kale with olive oil
3/4 cup canned black beans seasoned with cumin, salt, pepper and chili powder
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
Walnuts

Dessert
Cashew Cream with cinnamon (recipe coming to Espresso and Cream soon!)
1 cup almond milk

Notes:
I truly felt great today. I think I’m officially over the hump of eliminating caffeine from my daily routine, since I didn’t get a headache and didn’t need any Advil to make it through my day. Progress, right? I don’t think I took enough quinoa salad with me to work today since I found myself needing my afternoon snack around 2 instead of the typical 3 or 3:30 but I anticipate it taking a while for me to truly feel settled into knowing what and how much food I need. When I talked with Joe about his day and experiences, I thought it was interesting that he said he felt full and satisfied throughout the day but never felt “heavy” like he typically does after a meal.

Madison

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

