Evolve 21 Day Cleanse

One of the first decisions Joe and I made after buying our house in Minnesota was what gym to join. We immediately began our search and quickly found a gym that was centrally located to our home and offered everything we could want. By far our greatest discovery at our new gym has been the 90 minute hot yoga that is offered on Monday and Friday nights. Joe and I believe strongly that an instructor can make or break the class. In this case, our instructor on Monday and Friday nights totally makes the class.

We recently signed up to take part in a class called “Evolve” which is a 21 day yoga cleanse. Our class meets on Sunday afternoons and consists of a yoga class and nutrition information and group discussion. The first class begins this coming Sunday, and in preparation we have been encouraged to journal our eating habits so we can compare what we ate to how we feel before, during and after the cleanse.

I’ll be posting my daily eats here, as to not bother regular Espresso and Cream readers with the posts if they aren’t interested in the cleanse. Additionally, I hope to blog now and again about the challenges associated with the cleanse and how my body adjusts to what we are eliminating, and then reintroducing after the cleanse.

So what does this cleanse entail? We will be cutting out:

-Meat
-Dairy
-Gluten
-Caffiene (help!)
-Alcohol
-Eggs
-Added sugars (those not found naturally in fruits, veggies, etc.)

Basically, we will be gluten-free vegans for 21 days. I’m a little excited and a little bit nervous, too. My main reason for taking part in the cleanse is not to promote weight loss in any way. However, I have felt for some time that I may have some underlying food sensitivities based on some digestive issues I’ve experienced for years and the skin issues I’ve been having. I hope this cleanse (and re-introducing foods gradually after the cleanse) will help me identify what I might be sensitive to and how my body responds to the foods I do or do not choose to eat.

Madison

5 thoughts on “Evolve 21 Day Cleanse

  1. I love that you’re doing this and I’m so glad you’re blogging about it!! I love seeing how foods impacts our bodies. I’m contemplating a Whole 30 to hit the “reset” button on my diet and be more intentional about what I eat. Thanks for sharing your adventure with us.

    • Thanks, Cindy! I’m so excited for this experiment. I think it will be interesting to see how my body reacts to removing certain foods, and more interestingly, how it reacts when I reintroduce the food back into my diet later.

  2. I’m so excited that you’re going to let us follow along in your journaling! I’m actually getting ready to go gluten free for 30 days starting next week so I’m glad there will be some where to look for some more inspiration!! Good luck!!

  3. I can’t wait to hear what changes you and Joe experience! I too have noticed I may perhaps have some sensitivities, especially related to digestive and skin issues. Last week, I wrote down everything I ate and noticed how much gluten and dairy I consume in each meal. Good luck!

Leave a comment and join the discussion!

